25 March 2020, Wed, 1:53

Jamaat Ameer greets Khaleda Zia on her release; demands similar release of the aged political leaders

Bangladesh Jamaat-e-Islami’s Ameer Dr. Shafiqur Rahman has issued the following statement on 25 March 2020 extending greetings to recently released BNP Chairperson Begum Khaleda Zia and simultaneously demanding the release of detained Jamaat leaders Maulana Delawar Hossain Sayedee, ATM Azharul Islam, Maulana Abdul Khaleque Mondol and other aged and veteran national leaders.

“Former Prime Minister Begum Khaleda Zia got released today after a long detention of 25 months. Her release brought comfortability among the people. Earlier we urged the government for several times demanding her release. But the government kept her behind the bar implicating her with various political cases. We are greeting former Prime Minister Begum Khaleda Zia on her release. We wish her long life and good health. We would like to thank the government for their matured decision as they released her during this crucial period.  

The nation is heading towards a tough situation. Coronavirus is spreading across the nation alarmingly. We are of the view that, the prisons are also facing huge risk of coronavirus infection.

It is the responsibility of the government to ensure proper health safety for all the citizens. To get rid of corona infection, maintaining social distance is a must. From the perspective of social responsibilities, many nations of the world have set unique example by releasing the prisoners already. The people of Bangladesh want to see same pictures here as well. Particularly we think, the authority should release the prisoners whose ages are more than 60 years. World renowned religious scholar Maulana Delawar Hossain Sayedee, ATM Azharul Islam and Maulana Abdul Khaleque Mondol have been passing days inside the prison for many years. They are under severe threat of coronavirus.  

Under the circumstances, we are urging the concerned authorities to release all the aged detainees including Maulana Delawar Hossain Sayedee, ATM Azharul Islam and Maulana Abdul Khaleque Mondol immediately.