1 May 2018, Tue, 12:18

Schedule for Parliament elections in October

The schedule for the 11th Jatiya Sangsad election will be announced in October, Election Commissioner Rafiqul Islam said yesterday. 

He made the comment while addressing a press conference on demarcations of parliamentary constituencies at Nirbachan Bhaban in Agargaon.

”The Election Commission has brought changes in 25 out of 300 parliamentary constituencies.

But no changes have been made in constituencies of Dhaka," he said.

The boundaries of constituencies that changed are: Nilphamari-3 and-4, Rangpur-1 and-3, Kurigram-3 and-4, Sirajganj-1 and-2, Khulna-3 and-4, Jamalpur-4 and-5, Narayanganj-4 and-5, Sylhet-2 and-3, Moulvibazar-2 and-4, Brahmanbaria-5 and-6, Comilla-6,-9 and-10 and Noakhali-4 and-5.

On March 14, the EC published the draft of new demarcations of 300 parliamentary seats with changes to 38 constituencies. Later, the commission received appeals relating to the draft.

Some 407 appeals were made. Later, hearings on the appeals were held. 

After completion of hearings, the EC today published the final list of delimitation of 300 parliamentary seats.