12 July 2017, Wed, 12:26

BNP releases list of 25 ‘missing party men’

The BNP revealed a list of its 25 “missing leaders and activists”.

“The Awami League general secretary has talked about the list of people who were forcibly disappeared. I'm presenting a short list of our missing leaders, mainly of those in Dhaka,” said BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi.

Speaking at a press conference at the party's Nayapaltan central office, he said it would take some time to present the full list of their missing leaders and activists.

The 25 missing BNP men include M Ilias Ali, Saiful Islam Hiru, Chowdhury Alam, Humayun Kabir Parvez, Aminul Islam Jakir, Sajedul Islam Sumon, his cousin Zahidul Karim, Abdul Quader Bhuiyan, Mazharul Islam, Asaduzzaman, Al Amin, AM Adnan Chowdhury, Kausar Ahmed, Mahbub Hasan, Khalid Hasan, Samrat Mollah, Jahirul Islam, Parvez Hossain, Mohammad Sohel, Sohel Chanchal, Nazimuddin Munna, Tariqul Islam Jhantu, Quazi Farhad, Selim Reza Pintu and businessman Giasuuddin Kusum.

Most of them were “forcibly disappeared” from Tejgaon, Gulshan, Airport, West Nakhalpara, East Nakhalpara, Mugda, Uttar Badda and Sabujbagh areas, said Rizvi.

He alleged that law enforcers made at least 50 people disappear from the capital and its adjoining districts before the January 5, 2014 national election.

“Most of the missing people were involved either with the BNP or Chhatra Dal,” he added.